Every Student Succeeding

Each year, ACSA recognizes 19 pre-K-adult students, one from each geographic region, as well as two California adult education students, for overcoming the odds and achieving success.

We hope you'll join us to celebrate this year's outstanding student honorees and recognize the hundreds of students who have inspired us with their courage and resilience since 1996.

Program Overview

Every Student Succeeding

ACSA believes every student deserves equal opportunities to succeed. On every school day throughout California, dedicated educators and courageous students overcome tremendous obstacles to reach their goals of academic excellence.

Their success is our success; their powerful stories are our inspiration.

Each year, ACSA recognizes 19 pre-K-adult students, one from each geographic region, as well as two California adult education students, for overcoming the odds and achieving success.


Students are honored at ACSA's Leadership Summit Every Student Succeeding Ceremony in November, as well as at various regional events.

In 2023, the ESS presentation is scheduled for Thursday, Nov. 2 at the SAFE Credit Union Convention Center in Sacramento.

ACSA will actively publicize award recipients through the news media, and ACSA's website, publications and social media channels.

Purpose and Eligibility

Purpose. The purpose of this award is to honor students at all grade levels (pre-K to adult education) who have succeeded against all odds, beyond expectations or simply won the hearts of the administrators and other educators who helped them achieve their goals. One student from each region will be honored.

Eligibility. Nominees should be students who have made a special effort to succeed and have overcome obstacles such as:

  • Returning to school
  • Leaving a gang
  • Improving their attendance
  • Changing their attitude
  • Overcoming physical and mental barriers

They should also be active in:

  • After school programs
  • Community service
  • Student conflict resolution
  • Cross-age tutoring
  • Peer mediation
  • Peer tutoring

Nominees can come from programs such as:

  • Alternative Education
  • At-risk
  • Bilingual
  • Continuation School


Nominations must be sent directly to the nominee's region. Each region will select one winner and honor them at region events throughout the year.

Download Nomination Form

Check with your region leadership for the region submission deadline and process.

**All nominations must be submitted to your region or charter leadership.**


Send your completed student winner's nomination form (one student recipient per region) to the state ACSA Awards Program coordinator by March 1, 2024: Emily Agpoon, ACSA Awards Program
916.329.3833 | eagpoon(at)acsa.org


Every Student Succeeding Honorees

2023 Student Honorees

We sincerely congratulate all the 2023 student recipients at the charter, region and state levels.
ACSA is proud to honor your achievements, resilience and bravery.

Watch their inspiring stories now on ACSA YouTube.

Region 1

Claire DeLoge
Foothill High School, Shasta Union HSD

Region 2

Jacqueline Casanova
Roseville Adult School, Roseville Joint Union HSD

Region 3

Emanuel Reyes
SAVA Power Inn, Gateway Community Charters

Region 4

Jadyn Diaz
Ukiah High School, Ukiah USD

Region 5

Reem Rahmaoui
Lowell High School, San Francisco USD

Region 6

No 2023 recipient selected

Region 7

Cayla Harang
Mountain House High School, Lammersville USD

Region 8

Caleb Barefield
SVCTE & Santa Teresa High School, MetroEd & ESUHSD

Region 9

Joshua Jones
Kerman High School, Kerman USD

Region 10

Julia Magdei
Hollister High School, San Benito HSD

Region 11

Ramiro Martin
Tulare Union High School, Tulare Joint Union HSD

Region 12

Gilbert Lievanos
Hillside High School, Upland USD

Region 13

Destiny Hernandez
Santa Barbara High School, Santa Barbara USD

Region 14

Aria Wilson
Ernie Pyle Elementary School, Bellflower USD

Region 15

Fabian Llanes
Workman High School, Hacienda La Puente USD

Region 16

Hector Ceballos
Ben Franklin Senior High School, Los Angeles USD

Region 17

Samantha Runge
Cypress High School, Anaheim Union HSD

Region 18

Karla Machado
Meadows Union Elementary, Meadows Union School District

Region 19

Christinie Spears
Palm Springs High, Palm Springs USD

Adult Education

Ri'Keishia Seward
Highlands Community Charter and Technical Schools

Cecilia Delgado
LAUSD/DACE – Harbor Occupational Center

Every Student Succeeding